Blueberry Yogurt Pie

Just in time for Epic Pi Day!  Have 3.1415 wedges on 3.14.15.

I don’t recall much about my 30’s because I was so sleep deprived, but I know this:  I was pregnant a few times, and I watched a lot of cooking shows.  I don’t want to brag, but nobody could devour food and the Food Network quite like I could back then. I know my husband was awed by the sight of me, big as a house and three slices of yogurt pie to the wind, deep into my second show of the day by the time the sun was barely up. I am sure the expression I saw in his astonished eyes was adoration, not horror. I gained 70 pounds during that decade.  Don’t worry, I lost 65 of it and made grudging friends with the remainder.

IMG_1612

I made this recipe often when my girls were little. The original came from Sara Moulton, former executive chef of Bon Appetit, and Food Network star. It’s a chilled pie that requires Knox gelatin and is akin to panna cotta in texture.  I made the one pictured with a cookie crumb crust but you have free reign:  crumb, pastry or graham cracker.  I am partial to the paleo crust I have been making lately, and I think I have improved it.  I add an extra 1/2 cup of almond flour, a bit more salt and a teaspoon of palm sugar (but any sugar is fine).

I like to think I have embraced moderation in my 40’s . But I made this pie the other day and found that I was just as much a slave as ever to its creamy charms.  Be careful, with this in one hand and a remote in the other, you too could lose an entire decade.

Blueberry Yogurt (yes, I insist) Breakfast Pie

She watched many cooking shows in utero.
She watched many cooking shows in utero.

1 envelope unflavored gelatin
1 cup heavy cream
2 cups plain whole milk Greek yogurt or regular plain whole-milk or low-fat yogurt
1/4 sugar (I reduced this from the original recipe, which called for 1/2 cup)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pint blueberries (this is fantastic with fresh but I often use frozen.  They color the pie a bit but who cares?)

Stir the gelatin into 3 tablespoons of water in a small saucepan and set aside for 5 minutes to soften.  Then place over very low heat, stirring constantly, just until the gelatin has dissolved.  Whisk the gelatin into 1/4 cup of the cream in a small bowl.  Combine the yogurt, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl.  Gradually whisk the gelatin and cream mixture into the yogurt mixture.  Refrigerate while you beat the remain 3/4 cup cream in a small bowl until stiff peaks form.  Fold the whipped cream and most of the berries into the chilled yogurt mixture.  Spoon it all into the pie crust, sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup blueberries (if you are using fresh ones) over the pie and refrigerate at least an hour before serving.

Note: If you are in a real rush because company is coming or you are pregnant and dying to amass cellulite as quickly as possible, fix this with vanilla yogurt and omit the vanilla flavoring and sugar.  This will get the pie chilling and on its way to your face that much faster. Godspeed.

marycake

 

 

Leave a Reply

