Gluttonous, Not Glutinous

I was smugly pleased with myself last week when I managed to make chocolate cake with no wheat flour.  As my daughters and I were most indelicately devouring the cake and I was talking on the phone, with my mouth full, my friend inquired about the proportions of the flours.

“Well,” I replied through a wad of cake, “I used some coconut flour, some almond flour and some rice flour.”

“Some?”

“Hmph,” I replied, as my speech devolved into smacking noises.

I have got to start writing things down.  I had no idea what proportions I used and so what was I to do but make the whole thing over again?  No rest for the obsessed.

IMG_2689[1]

Coconut flour is a delight, but as the package warns, it sucks up liquid, so add extra to your batter.  In this case, that means a bit of extra coffee.  Use caffeinated if you think you might eat this for breakfast, (I am not condoning this, just acknowledging that it sometimes happens so it’s best to advise precautions, rather than abstinence) and use decaf, as I do, if you plan to eat it whenever the heck you feel like it.

I like this with peanut butter frosting but beware.  The presence of peanut butter on top of a cake excites something deep within your brain, at least it does mine.  It triggers a portion of the brain that fat-loads in anticipation of famine.  This area (the limbic system perhaps?) is also responsible for driving you to mate with the alpha male of the tribe and chase mastodon until you are good and sweaty.  So tread lightly, Eaters, because it can get dicey.

Cake So Nice I Made It Twice

I made a single layer this time because I knew I would overeat.  This recipe makes two layers.

3/4 cup dark cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups sugar (I like to split it between brown and white sugar)
3/4 cup almond flour
3/4 cup coconut flour
scant 1/2 cup rice flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup melted butter or coconut oil (preferable a mix of the two)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1  1/4 cups hot coffee (You may use hot water instead)

Heat your oven to 350 degrees and oil two 8 inch cake pans.   A circle of parchment in the bottom adds another layer of insurance against your cake sticking; it’s worth it.

Combine all the dry ingredients, add the eggs, milk, butter and vanilla.  Mix well for until incorporated then mix an additional 20 seconds.  Add the coffee.  I had to add about an extra 1/4 cup to the usual 1 cup I would use when making it with wheat flour in order to get a runny batter.  This is an adaptation of an old-fashioned cake recipe and is supposed to have a liquid batter that you pour into the cake pans.  So add enough coffee – or water – to make the batter easily pourable.

Bake for 20 minutes but watch it – maybe set your timer for 18 and check it because it overbakes easily.

IMG_2682[1]

 

Happy Eating,

marycake

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gluttonous, Not Glutinous

Leave a Reply

