Birth Announcement

 

IMG_1858[1]

She is beautiful isn’t she?

My mother used to make a Dutch Baby (known to some as a German Puff Pancake) for dinner every now and then and we were all mad for it. In my memory the pan is 3 feet across and the edges rise in majestic puffs a good 8 inches high. The whole glorious concoction is swimming in butter.

Since I started making these years ago I have scaled back considerable on the size – though I didn’t start out at with a 3 foot wide pan, that is a figment of my active culinary fantasy life. I now make it to feed two and give it to my daughters in the morning while I have muesli or something more fibrous and less fat. I need not say that I LOVE butter, BUT if I start the day with a Dutch Baby it will place me on a path of indolence, of idle magazine page flipping, protracted yawning and obsessive – but unproductive – hair rearranging. I just can’t begin the day with that much fat anymore. It’s okay, I had a good run.

The great thing about this recipe is that it is a sinch to scale up or down.

Kate’s Dutch Baby

5 eggs
1 1/4 cups milk
1 1/4 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
7 Tablespoons Butter, unsalted (the original recipe calls for an entire cube but I have taken great comfort in this modest reduction)

Melt butter in a 9 by 11 inch pan in the oven while it heats to 415 degrees. Once melted, remove pan from oven (carefully!) and pour in the blended mixture of the other ingredients (you may need to use a beater for these). Feel free to add some berries if you like. Place back in oven and bake for about 20 minutes until it puffs up gloriously and – I must warn you – ephemerally. Slather on jam or maple syrup and plain yogurt.

And then, take a relaxing lie-down.  Oh!  You’ll be wanting a list of things to do after you eat a Dutch Baby:

File your nails – maybe three or four of them
Look at a magazine with pretty pictures
Make a cup of tea but get distracted halfway through
Fluff the couch pillows and recline on them
“Read” a book about diet and exercise while you have a cup of something and a dark chocolate pretzel thin
Look at anthropologie.com

marycake

Leave a Reply

